alcivar guitars

Posted by sylvia on Fri, 06/28/02 - 09:40:51.

Would like some info about this guitar. valuable? is it any good?

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Re: alcivar guitars

: Would like some info about this guitar. valuable? is it any good?

hi silvia.find any info on 'em yet?
ive been looking in vain for alcivar info since i bought my black acoustic 6 in 1993 (model#w65bk)
at a used gear store.
i love its warm bassy tone (i am a bassist after all)
i havent found another acoustic 6 string that sounds as good.
every thing else just seems thin and trebley in comparison.
i was looking for info on how old it was but all i know is the japaness company also made some cheap electrics in the '80s.

rock on

: Would like some info about this guitar. valuable? is it any good? Send tthe information the e-mail address

Thank you

I think Alcivar was another brand made in the Ibanez factory (Fuji Gen Gakki), the same people that makes Ibanez, Memphis, Fender Heartfields, Antoria, Penco, etc.
The reason I think this is because I came across an Alcivar jazz box that was exactly the same as the Ibanez GB 10 (George Benson)except for the name on the headstock. The workmanship was impeccable. The same factory currently produces upscale Epiphones ( costing $ 2,000, not the cheaper Korean models) Apparently, and unfortunately, this factory is slated to be closed.
As far as quality, most Japanese guitars from the 80's were as good or better than the originals they copied; they were inexpensive but they were not "cheap".
I hope this shed some light.

: I think Alcivar was another brand made in the Ibanez factory (Fuji Gen Gakki), the same people that makes Ibanez, Memphis, Fender Heartfields, Antoria, Penco, etc.