italian clasical guitar

Posted by shawn on Mon, 10/06/03 - 18:21:39.

I have limited knowledge on guitars. I have a guitar which reads "Clarissa BY C.L. Strumenti Musicali" there is a modle number, it is G-52L. I purchaced the guitar in Germany while on posting there. It has traveled with me to many different locations. However on my last move it received some dammage. I have been asked to get a quote, howver have been unsuccessfull. I dont want to depreciate the guitar by re-finishing it. Does any one have an idea ref this old guitar?

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Re: italian clasical guitar

Hi,
I too have a Clarissa guitar with a model # G-300 EL. I was wondering if you found any info on this guitar.

Judith

Clarissa Guitars

I bought a Clarissa tobacco sunburst round back guitar in 1987, brand new from a guitar show in Derby. I cannot remember who the retailer was or where in Derby the show was held. I do remember paying £ 229.00 for it and that included a hard case. The label inside is an orange oval, with stylised musical notes and treble clefs on a stave, the wording just says CLARISSA in the centre, in bold type then N.2 in normal type under the last A in Clarrisa then Mod-- GA 100 under that. no other info at all. It has an under bridge pietzo pickup, no pre-amp but still with stacked volume and tone controlls, the volume being the larger bottom knob. All work fine, feeds back a bit but it must be one of the first under bridge pick-ups. The action is fine, the neck perfect, I use 12 light's on it which work well, giving a smooth rounded mellow tone. The top is solid spruce, ( I have had the torches and mirrors inside, to check grain patterns inside and out and they match ), the back is leather effect plastic, smooth inside and the only bracing is to the top, and that is not of the usual guitar pattern.