terada guitars

Advertisement
Posted by Martin on Tue, 03/18/03 - 14:49:12.

Can anyone suggest a website where I can get information on terada guitars? This company manufactured the only Martin guitar ever made outside of the united states and were a Japanese company. I have two models, one a T18 and the other a parlour steel strung guitar.
Thanks for any hints.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Terada Classic Guitar Gu 2530

Hello, I picked up a Terada Classic Guitar serial no. G u 2530 at a garage sale for $3.00 Au.
I picked it up thinking this looks cheap and nasty --- played a few notes on it and was awestruck.
I have been playing guitar since 1962 (its all the Beatles & Stones fault, although Duanne Eddy & Ricky Nelson have a share.) err also Senor Segovia, Manuel da Plata, Julian Bream et al.

This is one of the few guitars I have tried that needed to be saved. What a genuine beautiful tone it has. I have had a few classic's over the years and this beats them all for clarity & again tonal projection - soft to loud and in between.

It must be early 60s - 70s. The fretboard is rosewood and does its job but is in need of replacement.

The timber is or appears to be nothing special just veneer. But the top is quite thin. and the bracing is copycat Spanish.

This guitar can be very sonorous and clear and loud ( i've already said it.)

If I had to value it I would put large figure on it - this is, or seems to be a rare guitar and although it appears nondescript
it is one of those guitars that immediately speaks and if you play guitar at all well you will know exactly what I mean.
Walk into any guitar shop and you could be there for hours trying to find one that has that elusive quality - it is getting tougher these days to find one.

Terada guitar

I have since 1988, one Terada Japanese made electric guitar.