Guitar Discussion Forum Archive - June, 2000

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Want to hear some produced heavy guitar songs ?

visit :
http://artists.mp3s.com/artists/122/b_manning_called_cor_blime.html
lots of neat hooks and riffs.
also listen to some of my jazzier and easy listening songs.

isong out of business

Anybody know if the isong company is out of business? I recently purchased one of isong's guitar instruction CDs via the Internet, from Reed Kotler Music Bookstore, but have been getting responses to the firm's e-mail address bounced back to me as invalid (I haven't received the CD yet). If you have an answer to this query, please e-mail me at leegiles@telusplanet.net
Thanks.

MAJOR SCALES OR BLUES SCALES WHICH ONE LEARN??

AS A BEGINNING GUITARIST I HAVE SEEN BOOKS ON SCALES WHICH STATE THE ROCK MUSIC IS BASED OFF BLUES SCALES AND CHORDS AND THEN SOME SAY THE MAJOR OR PENTONIC SCALES.I AM INTERESTED IN THE STYLES OF STP ,ENUFF Z NUFF AND 80'S ROCK.ANY INFO WOULD BE APPRECIATED AND ALSO ARE THERE ANY SITES OUT THERE THAT WOULD LIST CHORDS THAT ARE ASSOCIATED WITH EACH INDIVIDUAL KEYS.EX.. THESE CHORDS ARE IN KEY WITH E.

Re: MAJOR SCALES OR BLUES SCALES WHICH ONE LEARN??

As you are into 80's rock music, learn the Pentatonic minors, the Blues scale and the minor scales to start with. Most rock guitarists use minor scales because they are much easier to solo with than major scales.
Feel free to Mail me, I am a registered tutor with the London College of Music.
Take a look at my site (soon there will be some chord and scale charts for easy referance)
http://members.aol.com/CLEMGIT/GuitarCourse/Welcome.html

Re: MAJOR SCALES OR BLUES SCALES WHICH ONE LEARN??

Learn them all!! Back in 1987 I sat down and tried to learn the guitar solo from REELING IN THE YEARS(Steely