Homepage Forums Discussion Popular Topics Gretsch 1650 / Supro 1606

• Creator
    Topic
    Anonymous

Does anyone have experince with these amps, specifically for amplified harmonica? Want a low watt, 8" speaker vintage amp. Would appreciate any info. Mike

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      Anonymous

: Does anyone have experince with these amps, specifically for amplified harmonica? Want a low watt, 8" speaker vintage amp. Would appreciate any info. Mike While I have no experience with the Gretch 1650, I do have some experience with the Supro 1610, not your 1606. I love the my Supro 1610 for that true vintage tube sparkle. IT IS THE REAL THING! I’m surprised that Supro’s are not more collected.. I’ll take any Supro I can get my hands on. With only about 5 or 6 watts output they will still scream. I play a mexican made Fender Strat through mine and the out of phase pickup positions have a real nice "pop." The sound will vary a lot depending upon what size speaker you use. With an 8" speaker you’ll get a pretty thin sound, but with a 12′ you get a full lush velvety feel. My original speaker was replaced before I got the amp. The distortion is nice and warm up to a point and at maximum volumes it’s a bit too broken-up. I’m thinking about miking the Supro and running the mic through a power-amp with all the effects, reverb, etc. The Supro is a blast. Have fun and see ya, Silky John Perrin.

Anonymous

: : Does anyone have experince with these amps, specifically for amplified harmonica? Want a low watt, 8" speaker vintage amp. Would appreciate any info. Mike :I double checked the model # of my Supro, and it is a 1616T. My mistake.

Anonymous