Homepage Forums Discussion Popular Topics Marshall Valvestate 8040 or Laney PL 50 ?

• Creator
    Topic
    Anonymous

Hi!
    I recently bought 2 different guitar combos via ebay and my question is which one I should keep and which one I should sell again as I can’t decide that on my own (I’m a beginner *g*).

The first one is a 10 year-old Laney Pro-Linebacker with 2 channels, one 12" speaker, 50 watt and integrated reverb. I believe there’s a transistor preamp in it. I payed about 100 $ for it.

The other one is the well-known Marshall Valvestate 8040, also with 2 channels, one 12" speaker and reverb but with 40 watt and a tube preamp. That thing cost me about 200 bucks.

Well, I personally think the Marshall is the better choice, of course, but there could probably also be anyone who could tell me that I’m wrong. I play a Strat-copy with a Seymour Duncan Hot-Rail-Humbucker at the bridge. Which combo provides me a pretty "hard", cool sound (I’d use it for heavyer rock music) but also high and clean sustain (for soli)? Is there a huge difference between the maximum volume of a 40W- and a 50W-amp or does Marshall’s "quality"-production make this backwardness good? Are there hearable differences between the transistor- and the tube-preamp? Are the Marshall-combo’s probable advantages worthy 100 dollars?

I’d welcome answers by experienced guys who know what they’re talking about 😉
    Thank you and please excuse my broken English…I’m German *g*

see you

Related Article:
    Marshall 1962 Bluesbreaker Amp

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
    Replies
      Anonymous