Homepage Forums Discussion Popular Topics Anyone any information on Martin Coletti Guitars

• Creator
    Topic
    Anonymous

I have come across a small acoustic guitar with the name Martin Coletti on it. Does anyone know anything about these guitars. Any information would be appreiciated.
    Thanks

Viewing 18 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      Anonymous

These were cheap pretty awful Czec made guitars. Name was made up to sound Italian.
      Sold in the UK as a beginners guitar and were so bad many people were put off playing completely by trying to learn on one.
      I have no knowledge of any pre war instruments which might be different however the vast majority I see for sale are Czec made small flat top guitars made in the 50s/60s and are just bad.
      A good example of the appalling junk sold in a struggling UK bankrupted by the second world war by spec inporters as there were few UK made instruments and no US made instruments on the market because of trade restrictions.
      No connection to Martin guitars in the US at all.

Anonymous

recently rescued from an ignominious end at an antiques market post covid clearout,a very nice condition full body jazz style acoustic guitar with”bound”f holes,body and head,single cutaway,all original with plastic pick guard and floating bridge,trapeze tailpiece,lovely vintage woodburst finish,but it seems like the adhesive on the neck/body joint has sucommed to age,i have managed to set it up for presentation but for now i’d describe it as for wall decoration,although it does look the part,information seems pretty vague on these so i’ve no idea of its actual age other than there is an exact example currently listed as pre ww2 on ebay,mine has an ink stamped number inside the body if anybody knows how to decypher it,detailled pics are available on request

Anonymous

My experience exactly the same, except I acquired my Martin Coletti around 1964. I’ve enjoyed reading all the posts. Thanks.

Anonymous