Homepage Forums Discussion Popular Topics is this a good buy? Ventura Bruno?

• Creator
    Topic
    Anonymous

Hey everyone-
    i’ve never played a note in my life but have always wanted to. i just came from a garage sale where they were selling a Ventura Bruno guitar V-1585 (missing one string but otherwise good shape) for 9.
    Is this a good guitar?
    I’m totally new to the guitar scene, so i can’t thank you so much for your time!
    p.s. i’m a girl with small hands… anything i should look for in a "learner" guitar?
    hugs-
    greta

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      Anonymous

I am a longtime fan of indo-asian guitars from the 60s and 70s
      There was a lot of craftsmanship and detail going into the products.
      The best thing to me tho was the wood they were using during this period.

Think about the old guitars of that time Yamahas, Ibanez, Teisco and Electras; I still have and X420, Sigh..
      Even off beat makes like Ventura, Castilla (also Bruno,) Melody, as well as American
      companies paying to have theirs made overseas, Kay, Sigma, Kent, Norma, Silvertone etc; they just had
      a great feel and tone and they were playable, good setups and they were bulletproof.
      I had an old Ventura, one of my first guitars, wonderful sound, great
      action and durable,,, I was young.

Ventura/Bruno has ties to Aria, Yamaha and their V-14 and V-35 were direct
      knockoffs of the Martin 14 and 35s. They were never a big name product
      but most will tell you if they had one, they loved it or still have it.

They made all sorts of guitars and other stringed instruments including
      electrics. They were eventually purchased and retained allegedly by the Ovation
      parent company in the early 80s

Great time for guitars, something about the wood and the craftsmanship…
      Isn’t it always

Anonymous