Home Forums Discussion Popular Topics Columbus guitar

• Creator
    Topic
    Anonymous

I bought a Columbus Les-Paul copy at an Auction a while ago. It was in not bad condition paid £30 for it. I find that the tones I can get from this machine are very good with the original pic-ups.

I know nothing about Columbus guitars and wonder if any one else has experience of the make. I think this guitar is around the late 60’s vintage and that’s all I know about it.

Any info would be a great help.

Viewing 24 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      Anonymous

Just seen this forum for the first time – very interesting! I am a guitar builder (retired – but still build ‘em for myself). I have a Columbus black LP that must be 50 or more years old. I agree with others about the sound – some years ago a colleague and I did a side-by-side test of this guitar alongside a “real one”. They sounded very similar until we turned the wick right up, at which point the Columbus began to sound a bit “fluffy” whilst the real one was razor sharp – but you rarely play that loud. I am in the process of rebuilding it. I have re-fretted it and am replacing all of the hardware and electronics. I design and manufacture my own pickups. I will fit a pair of low-wind humbuckers with coil splitter. Columbus guitars have certainly been underrated – they were very good. I am only replacing everything on this baby ‘cos everything was either very tarnished or work out. When I stripped down one of the original pickups I was amazed that such a good sound could have come from such a crude item. I also re-fitted the neck to look like a real LP – added more wood to the back of the heel and in-letter it further into the body – glued, not bolt on and adjusted the neck angle from three degrees to the correct five degrees. Getting ready now for the paint job.

Anonymous