Home | News | Guitar Lessons | Guitar Database | Discussion | Bands | Guitars | Top Amps | TAB | Stores | Search | Contact | Hitsquad
  :: Register :: Log in :: Archive :: Old Forum :: FAQ :: Search :: Usergroups :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages


LOOK OUT - Possible Scam
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    GuitarSite.com Guitar Discussion Forum Index -> Guitar
Author Message
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3951
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also remember "free jack cable" or suchlike to no-Paypal users, complete with description why the seller was feeling so generous Laughing . Fleeb is the new "Microsoft"; it stinks, and you moan about it, but you can't seem to avoid using it these days.
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3951
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Want an ES 175? Tons of them available in China, but you have to be quick because the Fleeb auctions all end in 24hrs. Three identical ones here, choose the price you want to pay (doesn't matter, as none of them actually own this guitar):

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VINTAGE-1967-GIBSON-ES-175-with-VINTAGE-BROWN-CASE_W0QQitemZ7374796875QQcategoryZ624QQssPageNameZWD2VQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VINTAGE-1967-GIBSON-ES-175-with-VINTAGE-BROWN-CASE_W0QQitemZ7374672732QQcategoryZ621QQssPageNameZWD2VQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VINTAGE-1967-GIBSON-ES-175-with-VINTAGE-BROWN-CASE_W0QQitemZ7374650259QQcategoryZ308QQssPageNameZWD2VQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

And yes, they're all identical, but with three "different" sellers. Here is the legitimate seller:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VINTAGE-1967-GIBSON-ES-175-with-VINTAGE-BROWN-CASE_W0QQitemZ7371471688QQcategoryZ38085QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

but just look at the number of ebay scam hijacks from China. You'll notice that some of them had bids on them. Hope they didn't actually pay money over. http://search-completed.ebay.co.uk/VINTAGE-1967-GIBSON-ES-175-with-VINTAGE-BROWN-CASE_W0QQcatrefZC6QQfisZ2QQflocZ1QQfromZR10QQfsooZ2QQfsopZ1QQfstypeZ1QQga10244Z10425QQsacatZQ2d1QQsaprchiZQQsaprcloZQQsaslcZ2QQsbrexpZWD2SQQssPageNameZWD2S

I've contacted the 'proper' seller, even though Fleeb inserted a new "security" device to 'protect against misuse'. Again, they seem to have their priorities pear-shaped.
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3951
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just went through the torture of trying to contact the buyers, too. Here's our chum selling a Rickenbacker, too...
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Rickenbacker-4003-Jetglo-Stereo-4-string-bass-guitar-NR_W0QQitemZ7374672570QQcategoryZ621QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

along with a few other Chinachums who happen to own the same guitar:
http://search.ebay.co.uk/search/search.dll?from=R40&satitle=Rickenbacker+4003+Jetglo+Stereo+4+string+bass+guitar%2CNR

but none of them have noticed, and deleted, the "will only ship within the US" description that the original seller put up. Take a look at how many times this bass is being "sold" on the Fleeb:
http://search-completed.ebay.co.uk/Rickenbacker-4003-Jetglo-Stereo-4-string-bass-guitar-NR_W0QQcatrefZC6QQfisZ2QQflocZ1QQfromZR10QQfsooZ2QQfsopZ1QQfstypeZ1QQga10244Z10425QQsacatZQ2d1QQsaprchiZQQsaprcloZQQsaslcZ2QQsatitleZRickenbackerQ204003Q20JetgloQ20StereoQ204Q20stringQ20bassQ20guitarQ2cNRQQsbrexpZWD2SQQssPageNameZWD2S
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3951
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is getting rather boring, apols for the deja vu. Fancy a 1958 Les Paul Custom? Of course you do, but it'll cost you. Here's the listing:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7375304854

Fancy getting the same guitar (same pics, same text) for less money from China? Here are the auctions:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VINTAGE-1958-GIBSON-LES-PAUL-CUSTOM-PAFs-not-a_W0QQitemZ7376028863QQcategoryZ621QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
and
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VINTAGE-1958-GIBSON-LES-PAUL-CUSTOM-PAFs-not-a_W0QQitemZ7376028659QQcategoryZ621QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I haven't bothered to contact Fleeb as they're not interested in my busybodying. I have contacted the original seller. Fleeb will only stop a scam if the 1st seller complains because, according to Fleeb, "the seller may have given permission for the others to use his pictures" Rolling Eyes

IMO, eBay is the absolute last place I would either buy or sell a truly valuable guitar. Christies, Sotheby's you've got some comeback. eBay? Laughing
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3951
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, my spoof buyer "sinoscamtosser" has won so many auctions Fleeb has actually congratulated me Rolling Eyes . I've sent them a reply that I have no intention of paying for these scams, and that Fleeb are pathetic.

Incidentally, all of those different seller-IDs have sent me the same invoice. Here he is, step forward:

Quote:
Full Name: Li Han(first name:Li last name:Han) Address: 915 room, 208# building Guangqumendongli , Chaoyang District Beijing China Zipcode: 100021


Preferably, step forward from a steep cliff, you git.
Back to top
Michael
Lead Virtuoso
Lead Virtuoso


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 1897
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In regards to fleeb, I was reading some interesting articles on how less then reputable ebay shop owners change their shop name to avoid users finding out about past complaints via google searches. Of course the concept is hardly new, it's just the fact fleeb does very little to combat it.

Edit: I meant to add, maybe you could play a little game with this scammer 1b, like those other sites that get back at em. Always a good laugh.
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3951
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps tell Li Han that I have a brother-in-law with lots of money in the Bank of Lagos, Nigeria? I'll send him a cheque for $500,000 and, as soon as it "clears" send me the Ric 4003 wrapped in $100 notes for the change? Keep $5000 for yourself, Li Han?

I couldn't do that could I? Laughing
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3951
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The eBay scam seller also does amplifiers. These two:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VINTAGE-1967-FENDER-SUPER-REVERB-GUITAR-AMP-AMPLIFIER_W0QQitemZ7377762620QQcategoryZ98187QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
and http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VINTAGE-1967-FENDER-SUPER-REVERB-GUITAR-AMP-AMPLIFIER_W0QQitemZ7377805596QQcategoryZ621QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

are both hijacks of an amp sold by a legitimate dealer in New York for $1500. Hello Li Han, hello eBay, bids coming from Sinoscamtosser Razz
Back to top
mrblanche
Jammin' Hot
Jammin' Hot


Joined: 28 Dec 2005
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 9:54 pm    Post subject: E-bay and PayPal scam messages Reply with quote

A ways back there was a mention of spoof e-bay e-mails phishing for your personal info. Usually they're not to hard to spot, because if you roll your cursor over the link they want to take you to, you'll see they're NOT going to www.ebay.com. However, lately there have been some really clever ones that look EXACTLY like e-bay's address, with one little twist. Instead of a slash (/) between address elements (for example, www.ebay.com/index/viewitem), the address has dots (.), for example, www.ebay.com.index.viewitem.

It's just a good idea not to open anything you're not expecting, of course!
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3951
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A legitimate auction for a Cherry LP ended in the UK for £620. Want to know how many Chinese scam copies there are tonight? Five. Want to know how many there've been so far? Thirty-two - check my search link:
http://search-completed.ebay.co.uk/Loooooky_W0QQcatrefZC6QQfisZ2QQflocZ1QQfromZR10QQfsooZ2QQfsopZ1QQfsprZ0QQfstypeZ1QQga10244Z10425QQsacatZQ2d1QQsaprchiZQQsaprcloZQQsaslcZ2QQsatitleZLoooookyQ21QQsbrexpZWD2SQQssPageNameZWD2S

You'd think eBay would cotton on? The Chinese scammers have now latched onto the pretty well-known UK makers "Wesley" guitars. I've emailed them and they are onto Fleeb. Wesley are what you might term "power sellers", rather than the occasional axe-offloader. Hopefully, Fleeb will take a bit more notice when they get a flea in the ear. So far, they've been smug and complacent.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    GuitarSite.com Guitar Discussion Forum Index -> Guitar All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
Page 9 of 9

 



Can't post? Make sure you Register or log in.

Forum Home :: Archive :: Old Forum :: GuitarSite.com :: 2000 Guitars Database :: Bands :: Guitars