Home | News | Guitar Lessons | Guitar Database | Discussion | Bands | Guitars | Top Amps | TAB | Stores | Search | Contact | Hitsquad
  :: Register :: Log in :: Archive :: Old Forum :: FAQ :: Search :: Usergroups :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages


LOOK OUT - Possible Scam
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    GuitarSite.com Guitar Discussion Forum Index -> Guitar
Author Message
lee_UK
Rolling Stone No.8
Rolling Stone No.8


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 3386
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 1:19 pm    Post subject: LOOK OUT - Possible Scam Reply with quote

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CUSTOM-BUILT-SHAMAH-ELECTRIC-GUITAR_W0QQitemZ7354851107QQcategoryZ621QQssPageNameZWD2VQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

0 bids, 0 ebay sales, only accepts 3 easy scam to trace payment methods, and then calls the guitar a 'Blue Oyster' one for you Mike is'nt it?

then heres another from the same ebayer, costs less money than the first, but the same guitar, and also pictured is a strat like guitar?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CUSTOM-BUILT-SHAMAH-ELECTRIC-GUITAR_W0QQitemZ7354841937QQcategoryZ621QQssPageNameZWD2VQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Back to top
Michael
Lead Virtuoso
Lead Virtuoso


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 1897
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 3:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Worthwhile notice Lee, thanks.

And despite the name, us VIP members of the Blue Oyster Club already receive our own custom built instruments - and I can assure you they resemble a flute more than a guitar. Wink Wink
Back to top
glw
Lover of Fine Antigua
Lover of Fine Antigua


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 1175
Location: Oxfordshire, Uk

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've noticed a few sellers from China listing guitars on ebay.co.uk - they have really tiny start prices like 99p but you need to check their postage prices - £300 or so!
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3951
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Both items pulled; well done, Lee. I've always maintained that posting a Fleeb scam on a decent site (such as this one) works a lot quicker than going through the torturous "notify eBay" process.
Back to top
lee_UK
Rolling Stone No.8
Rolling Stone No.8


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 3386
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just in the middle of a 'run in' with an ebayer who said he posted out a music book to me, it didnt turn up, and now i have to wait for ebay/paypal to run their investigation, it was only £11, but its the principle, grrrr Twisted Evil
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3951
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not like the look of this AT ALL. This seller has an aftermarket "F" type Fender neckplate for an entirely reasonable $10:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/FENDER-STRATOCASTER-TELECASTER-MUSTANG-NECK-PLATE_W0QQitemZ7354620621QQcategoryZ33039QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

The same seller has a "1966" Fender neckplate at the also-reasonable list of $99 - indeed, he has a bid on it. The problem is, have a look at it:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/1966-FENDER-STRATOCASTER-TELECASTER-MUSTANG-NECK-PLATE_W0QQitemZ7354628803QQcategoryZ33039QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

It's almost like "spot the difference". A couple of Qs; why does the listing say serial # 118XXX when the pic makes it perfectly clear what # has been stamped and, secondly, why does this plate cost $2 more to post than the blank one? Did he stamp the numbers on heavily? Embarassed , I mean, did Fender stamp the numbers on heavily?

EDIT: The IMGs didn't load up. Please click on the links to see what I mean. 2nd EDIT: TBF, looking through the seller's previously completed listings, he seems to specialize in stripping down (esp) Musicmasters et al for parts. If it is genuine (and I guess it is) the problem is it looks TOO clean. A bit of pitting and oxidation would've done it no harm.
Back to top
lee_UK
Rolling Stone No.8
Rolling Stone No.8


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 3386
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It does look too clean, i agree, a lot of his other stuff looks very good though, he has a lot of satisfied customers behind him too, But i agree with you bass, it does look very odd.
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3951
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All horsemen of the apocalypse are here. http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Fender-Precision-Bass-October-1968-Natural-wood-finish_W0QQitemZ7356612626QQcategoryZ4713QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem '68 Precision; newly registered, 0 feedback seller; tempting £600 starter. No mention of postage details. I tend to find this is a Freudian slip - the guitar doesn't exist so why bother filling in the shipping costs?

Not even a photo of the bass. I think even the mugs will steer clear of this one.
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3951
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never heard of a 1960 Gibson ES bass? Neither have I. This has more than a hint of "Teisco" about it. Anybody more clued up and can confirm it's legit (eg SB?), please chime in.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Gibson-Bass_W0QQitemZ7356738560QQcategoryZ4713QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Back to top
lee_UK
Rolling Stone No.8
Rolling Stone No.8


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 3386
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just asked for a close up the headstock front/back and body too, and also the s/no.
Romford as we all know is full of 2nd hand car dealers, and this definatly has the look af a ringer or cut and shut about it.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    GuitarSite.com Guitar Discussion Forum Index -> Guitar All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 1 of 9

 



Can't post? Make sure you Register or log in.

Forum Home :: Archive :: Old Forum :: GuitarSite.com :: 2000 Guitars Database :: Bands :: Guitars