Home | News | Guitar Lessons | Guitar Database | Discussion | Bands | Guitars | Top Amps | TAB | Stores | Search | Contact | Hitsquad
  :: Register :: Log in :: Archive :: Old Forum :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages


Warning Forged Guitar !!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    GuitarSite.com Guitar Discussion Forum Index -> Guitar
Author Message
lee_UK
Rolling Stone No.8
Rolling Stone No.8


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 3340
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 4:24 pm    Post subject: Warning Forged Guitar !! Reply with quote

Have a look at this, this guy buys a 'Vintage' Telecaster copy
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=2384&item=7306690179

for £60, buys a decal for the headstock, sticks it on and comes up with this cock and bull story, and trys to sell it off as an original fender,

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7326585879&fromMakeTrack=true

anyone know the procedure for reporting this kind of stuff to ebay? ive sent him an e-mail telling him of my intentions, some poor sod might actualy buy this crap as a real fender, and he has the cheek to call it a japanese one too.
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3863
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great spot, Lee. The auction has been ended, but not by eBay. Expect this one to re-surface when the heat dies down. As you say, "Valkerieride" is a total git. The previous auction (that he won) features no headstock logo. Ergo, he stuck one on, then pedalled a "looks unusual to me but I'm no expert" story. These arses are all over Fleeb. Reporting a suspect fraud to Fleeb is murder; they really do make it an obstacle course.

I do know how to alert Fleeb, and I take great pleasure in knocking this sort of rip-off down so let me know of any others. Also, take it from me, Fleeb people watch fora like this. They move slowly if you tell them directly, but they move darn quick if guitarists/amp owners start posting worldwide on a respected forum. They don't like to see "eBay scam" posted on a forum, and they search for it, which is why I've just typed it Smile .

Most people know about the "zero feedback, selling brother's '57 Strat for $2000" scammer, but there are the slightly more clever ones who'll settle for just a few hundred. Lot's of tell-tale signs if you look carefully. Let's make this an eBay Scam-Watch thread - for the benefit of all.

1BL

(ps, Fleeb did stop one for me inside 24hrs. A zero newbie from Bolton, Lancashire selling a 1959 sunburst LP for £1500 up "email me for a BIN price". The LP was pic'd on a sunbed next to a swimming pool. I told Fleeb if they could find an outdoor swimming pool in Bolton I'd buy the damn guitar for them. They pulled the auction Laughing )
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3863
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For instance, don't buy this, or any of his other auctions. You know it doesn't make sense.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=621&item=7328196869&rd=1
Back to top
GrooveMonster



Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Location: Atlanta

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 1:24 pm    Post subject: VINTAGE TELE STYLE ELECTRIC GUITAR Reply with quote

Seems to me Jammin' Hot is harrassing a perfectly fair and honest ebayer. He clearly states in his auction, this is a Tele "style" guitar. Anyone can clearly see he isn't trying to pass it off as a authentic Fender.
Back to top
lee_UK
Rolling Stone No.8
Rolling Stone No.8


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 3340
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

which auction are you refering to? surely not the one i posted.
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3863
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Judging by the subject title in the post, yes, Lee. Groove, have another look at the links Lee provided. Lee's doing a service here. The first sale is for a "Tele Style" guitar, no headstock logo, sold for £60 to Valkyrieride. The second auction is for the same guitar, put up by Valkerieride, but a "Fender" logo has magically appeared on the headstock. Along with a "I don't know much but..." (ie, no comeback when the cheque's cashed) desc.

That is fraud, plain and simple. It's not harassing an honest seller. If Valk could explain how a logo suddenly appeared, I'd love to hear it.
Back to top
GrooveMonster



Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Location: Atlanta

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I stand corrected! Upon closer examination of the 2nd auction, it's clear something is fishy...

Keep up the good work! We musicians must stand together to protect one another!

-Eric
Back to top
1bassleft
Lowdown Cack-hander
Lowdown Cack-hander


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 3863
Location: "Hit The North"

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No prob, Eric (nice to see you back). I follow your original thinking, now. Yes, the first sale was totally legitimate and desc'd as a "Fender Style" Tele (FMC lawyers would get narky about it - Rickenbacker are even worse - but who cares about them?) so any buyer knew what they were getting. In fact, I thought it was damned good one as visuals go. The "top-hat" selector and all. Surprised it only pulled £60 now that FMC have trademarked their headstocks.

Valkyrieride, the re-seller is a different matter. He's pedalling a con and I might just put him in my "favourite sellers -NOT" list to see what else he's up to.*

I'm with you, Eric - if we stick together these eBay scams can be eroded, if not stamped out completely.

1BL
(*abstract joke for people who've seen Looney Toons and heard Wagner, or just for Valkyrie himself. "Kill the wabbit, kill the wabbit"... etc)
Back to top
lee_UK
Rolling Stone No.8
Rolling Stone No.8


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 3340
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

not seen him auction any more items, looks like he's keeping a low profile, theres never a copper around when you need him is there?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    GuitarSite.com Guitar Discussion Forum Index -> Guitar All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 



    

Can't post? Make sure you Register or log in.

Forum Home :: Archive :: Old Forum :: GuitarSite.com :: 2000 Guitars Database :: Bands :: Guitars

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group