Homepage Forums Discussion Popular Topics Suzuki Three S

• Creator
    Topic
    Anonymous

I’ve been playing for 42 years and amongst my inventory, I have a 1979 Suzuki Three S Acoustic, 3 piece back, lots of abalone, tremendous action, simply a sweet acoustic guitar. Bought new on a whim, plan to keep, and am curious as to value?

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      Anonymous

Rarely do I think that I have the best story on any particular subject ever. But in the case of the Suzuki 3S series guitar my story is notable at least. When I began dating my second wife Karen in the mid 90s she told me she had and old guitar. She showed it to me after pulling it out of a closet it had been in for years. It was a F-200 dreadnought with about 3 strings on it and little to no playing wear whatsoever. The story she told me was that her brother got with S&H Green Stamps and had given it to her. Could be true, and since no one in the family played, it became my go to. As it has aged it’s tone and projection has strengthened as you would expect from any great American guitar which it certainly is not. I have a Martin HD-28, that I love, which it has no trouble keeping up with without breaking a sweat.

Fast forward to the early 2000s and my daughter says to me “Dad, I want a twelve string guitar”. So I took her down to the local music store where apparently as a middle aged gentleman I was invisible to the store help. They had one twelve string in the place that was on top of a ten foot cabinet and the price tag was 875 bucks. No one around to help us so I sez (Missouri speak) letz see what we kin find online.

Lo and Behold there is a 12 string Suzuki 3S on Ebay and I bought it for 185 bucks including shipping. It arrived in a throwaway soft shell case in perfect playing condition after a set of strings. A new part of our family, to be sure.