carlos guitars

Posted by bob Janet Simons on Sun, 10/11/09 - 09:41:28.

In the late 1970s and early 1980s I was a guitar salesman and sold Carlos guitars, first as a store manager and then as a wholesaler who sold them to music stores. Back then they were poorly made Korean models that paralleled the Talamine line. The F-307 was the cheapest. Later the Korean shop obtained machines from Takamine but still made them in factories with dirt floors and cheap materials. That improved their quality a great deal - this happened in about 1984. In order to buy the line, a dealer had to buy 72 guitars at one time once per year. They bought 6 (box lot) of any model they wanted. I sold hundreds of them to some dealers. They were OK in the cheap price range after they obtained the Takamine equipment. I haven't seen new ones for years.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Carlos Model #260R

I bought this guitar from a music store in Appleton Wi back in the 70s. It is a great guitar and I still have it. It is made in Korea and I am interested in knowing the present value. Any idwas?

Carlos 210

My folks bought me a Carlos model 210 made in Korea when I was in Jr. High for music class.
My father had told me that it was made with Rose Wood. It also came with an Allen wrench so you could ajust the neck. I still have it, it plays great and I am 56 yrs. old now.
I am glad to have found this site.

CARLOS 210

I literally picked this guitar out of the garbage! Carlos 210 1979 acoustic folk guitar.
New Martin light gauge strings and a good cleaning and I have a little beauty.
Sounds great. Stays in tune ....What a find!

Carlos Guitar