Guitar Discussion Forum Archive - March, 2001

Advertisement

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

need help on pickups

halo from the far east....

i'm quite new in the electric guitar world though i've been playing acoustic for a year plus now.....i need you guys' help on two life and death questions.......

1. i need your answer on the best set of pickups.....whether a single coil is good enough, two single coils, a coil and a humbucker, two or three (does that exist) humbuckers or a combination of two humbuckers and a coil etc....there just seem to be too much choices to be made.....if music style is of any concern to this, i play mainly blues and rock (a bit of metal too)..............

2. how good is kramer? while the price is ridiculously attractive, i'm quite curious about the product and the workmanship ie. the coil, the wood, the bridge, the durability etc......one more thing, how can they sell so cheap?

thanks guys.

Re: need help on pickups

: 1. i need your answer on the best set of pickups.....whether a single coil is good enough, two single coils, a coil and a humbucker, two or three (does that exist) humbuckers or a combination of two humbuckers and a coil etc....there just seem to be too much choices to be made.....if music style is of any concern to this, i play mainly blues and rock (a bit of metal too)..............

Well, this is very subjective. But if you play rock and metal, humbuckers are the way to go. For some blues applications, single coils do the trick. You can try to find a guitar that has a coil split which will change the humbuckers to singles for even more sound options. Play lots of guitars and decide what you like the best.